Today, in supermarkets you can find products from hundreds of candy manufacturers. But it is rare to find sweets that have existed for almost 100 years. Today, we will talk about Maoam Stripes. Because Maoam is one of these products.
In my childhood, Maoam was very present for a while. There are certainly few people who do not know Maoam. However, the older you get, the more you pay attention to what you eat. And if you have chosen veganism or vegetarianism, you have to pay special attention to what you eat. If you look at my articles, you will be very surprised. You will find many products that you have eaten until now as a vegetarian because you did not know that they are not vegetarian. But today’s topic is Maoam. Are Maoam stripes vegetarian?
Does Maoam Have Pork Gelatin?
If you take a look at the ingredients of Maoam, you will find ingredients such as sugar, citric acid, glucose syrup, sorbitol syrup, palm fat, and flavorings. In addition to these ingredients, the manufacturer also lists animal gelatin. Unfortunately, therefore, the colorful candies are not vegan.
Is Gelatin Vegetarian?
Gelatin is a non-vegetarian product that is often made from pigs and cows. Although it may be upsetting to learn this, the process of creating gelatin starts with the boiling of animal body components that contain collagen, such as connective tissues, ligaments, bones, etc.
Are Maoam Stripes vegetarian?
Unfortunately, since Maoam contains gelatin, it is not vegetarian.
Which Haribo products are suitable for vegetarians?
Haribo Funny-Mix, Haribo Sour Rainbow Twists, Haribo Jelly Beans, Haribo Sour Rainbow Spaghetti, Haribo Sour Rainbow Strips, Haribo Giant Strawbs, Haribo Rainbow Twists. Unfortunately, none of these are vegan as all of them contain beeswax, which is used as a glazing agent.
They look like colourful crystals.
Vegan and Vegetarian Gelatine Substitutes
Gelatin acts as a binder – for example for desserts such as parfaits or cakes. However, there are also vegetable alternatives such as pectin, agar-agar, and carrageenan. Why Haribo does not use vegan gelatine substitutes?
Where does the name MAOAM come from? The story of MAOAM
Edmund Münster took over the “Düsseldorfer Lakritzenwerk” in Germany in 1900. Until the 1930s, licorice products were the main focus. In 1930/31, Münster took over the license from abroad for the production of a fruity chewy candy called “MAOAM”. This name is an artificial name. Maoam is an abbreviation for “Mundet allen ohne Ausnahme” (“Tastes good to everyone without exception”). In August 1930, he applied to the Düsseldorf District Court for “design protection for the product Maoam, chewy candy without gum, made of sugar, syrup and other ingredients.” The protection covers the name MAOAM, the product, the packaging, and any imitation made from licorice, cocoa, sugar or baked goods.